When is weed legal in Michigan? That’s the question that’s been on the minds of everyone in the state.
But the fact of the matter? Michigan voters already approved the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act (MRTMA) back in November 2018. This act legalized cannabis consumption for adults 21 years of age and older.
That’s right. Michigan was actually the first Midwestern state to allow both medical and adult-use cannabis.
For those of you wondering when is weed legal in Michigan, we’re going to give you as much insight as possible in this post. So, keep reading to learn all about what to expect with legal weed in Michigan now.
Is Weed Legal in Michigan?
Yes, marijuana has been legal in the Great Lake State for a while now. In fact, Michigan voters approved the Michigan Compassionate Care Initiative even before the MRTMA. This happened in November 2008, and with this measure, weed became legal for patients with serious health concerns.
Legalization in Michigan began with seriously and terminally ill patients. Ultimately, the state decided that it would be good for patients to have access to these products as medicine, as long as a doctor’s approval was obtained, of course.
Qualifying patients and caregivers have the right to cultivate some medical marijuana, too. However, some people have been trying to take this right away from the caregivers.
Where Can You Buy Weed in Michigan?
Michigan’s medical marijuana program is quite lenient. Medical marijuana patients can buy up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis daily from state-licensed retailers. However, they can only purchase up to 10 ounces monthly – which is still quite a lot of cannabis.
For the adult-use market, recreational consumers are allowed to buy up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis at a time, as well. However, they can only purchase up to 15 grams of concentrate. The MRA regulates adult-use retail operations in Michigan, and this is where the adult-use consumers can shop their pot.
Interested in learn more about the law in Michigan? Make sure to check out our other post on Michigan cannabis law before you leave!
Where Are You Allowed to Consume Weed in Michigan?
Consuming weed in Michigan must take place at a home or in another private space. This is limited to certified patients and adults who are at least 21 years of age.
However, there are some exceptions to this rule. But even with these exceptions, public consumption is still prohibited. It’s also illegal to consume medical marijuana in a privately owned vehicle.
Michigan’s Drugged Driving laws also prohibit driving under the influence of cannabis. Furthermore, universities that are given federal funding have to comply with drug-free campus regulations, which do not allow marijuana possession or consumption on campus.
Possession and Cultivation Limits in Michigan
State law allows adults 21 years of age and older to possess up to 2.5 ounces, or 71 grams of marijuana. However, adults are limited to 15 grams of cannabis concentrate.
Anyone interested in cultivating cannabis at home is allowed to grow up to 12 plants and can possess the plants’ harvests. These harvests are limited by 10 ounces, or 284 grams, at home. Adults are legally allowed to give away some of their cannabis. However, they’re not allowed to sell it if they do not have a license.
Patients and primary caregivers are allowed to have up to 10 ounces. They can also grow and possess their harvest from as many as 12 marijuana plants at once. However, patients must highlight that they intend to grow marijuana on their registry application.
For home-cultivation, the plants have to be locked away in an enclosed space. If caregivers would like to grow more plants, they must apply for a Michigan commercial cultivation license.
Michigan Medical Marijuana Legality
Michigan allows qualified patients to register for an MMJ card through its Michigan Medical Marihuana Program. This offers them legal access to medicinal marijuana.
Patients & Caregivers in Michigan
Patients need to be at least 18 years of age if they’d like to qualify for medical marijuana under the current MMMP laws. For patients who designate a primary caregiver, they must list that caregiver on their registry application.
Caregivers are required to be at least 21 years of age. They cannot have ever been convicted of a violent or drug-related felony, as well. For primary caregivers, they need to have a record clean of felonies for the last 10 years. These caregivers are allowed to have up to five qualified patients under their care.
Weed Legality in Michigan FAQ
Can you go into a dispensary without a card in Michigan?
If you don’t have an MMMP card, you cannot enter a medical marijuana dispensary. However, since cannabis is legal for adult-use, you can visit a recreational dispensary if you’re 21 years of age or older.
When can you buy pot in Michigan legally?
It’s now legal to buy pot in Michigan. If you’d like to make a purchase and are 21 years of age or older, you have the opportunity to visit the state’s licensed adult-use cannabis dispensaries and retailers. However, some Michigan cities do not allow recreational cannabis sales.
When was medical weed legalized in Michigan?
Medical weed became legal in Michigan in 2008 when the state’s voters approved the Michigan Compassionate Care Initiative. With the MCCI, patients now have access to the medicine they need in the Great Lake State.