The Michigan recreational purchase limit impacts consumers and dispensary operators. From the consumption side, this is the limit for how much cannabis and cannabis products can be purchased at the retail operations. However, from the dispensary operator side of things, these regulations govern how these operations can serve consumers.
In this post, we cover the ins and outs of the Michigan recreational purchase limit, what’s involved, and other insights for consumers and adult-use dispensary operators.
Looking for help scaling your dispensary’s operations in Michigan? Northstar is ready to help!
Contact us now to speak with one of our experts about how we’ll grow your business in this budding space.
Michigan Recreational Dispensary Requirements
As Michigan cannabis CPAs, we hear questions about adult-use (or recreational) marijuana from both dispensary operators and consumers. As recreational marijuana in Michigan continues to gain traction and expand throughout the state, more business owners are looking to get involved as consumers continue to purchase Michigan cannabis products.
However, now that the caregiver products produced under the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act are no longer allowed in the adult-use system, marijuana flower and processed cannabis products are in short supply. This has resulted in the prices for recreational marijuana in Michigan rising. Even cartridges have begun to retail for over $100 in some areas.
Even though there’s a shortage of recreational cannabis in Michigan, it’s important for consumers and dispensary owners to know about the dispensary requirements in place. Here’s what you need to know:
Who can buy marijuana in Michigan?
Anyone over the age of 21 holding a valid ID is allowed to visit recreational marijuana dispensaries in Michigan. The majority of these retail operations mainly accept cash for payment. However, some are starting to accept electronic payments, too.
With COVID’s impact on the state, many marijuana dispensaries have been forced to change their ways. Many now offer curbside pickup and delivery options, thus facilitating transactions. Consumers can even make their purchases online and pick up their products from the dispensaries without getting out of their cars.
Michigan Recreational Purchase Limit Non Resident
The Michigan recreational purchase limit nonresidents can expect is the same as residents. This means any adult 21 years of age or older is allowed to purchase up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis flower (or the equivalent in cannabis products). However, consumers are only allowed to buy up to 15 grams of cannabis concentrate. This is on a per-transaction basis.
Dispensary operators must respect these regulations, as well. They need to track everything sold in the state’s tracking system, making it rather easy to determine how much product a consumer has purchased in a day or month.
Michigan Recreational Purchase Limit FAQ
How much can you buy at a dispensary in MI?
Any adult 21 years of age or older is allowed to purchase up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis flower or the equivalent cannabis product in a single transaction. Keep in mind, if a consumer plans to buy cannabis concentrate, they’re limited to 15 grams.
How many grams can you buy in Michigan?
Two and a half ounces of cannabis flower is equal to 70 grams. Thus, if someone is purchasing pre-rolled joints, this is equal to around 35 0.5-gram pre-rolls. Consumers are also allowed to buy up to 15 grams of cannabis concentrate.
How many vape carts can I buy in Michigan?
Michigan recreational cannabis dispensaries can sell up to 15 vape carts to consumers. This is the equivalent of two and a half ounces of cannabis flower.
Can I hold a recreational cannabis license without owning a medical marijuana facility?
Recreational marijuana in Michigan is evolving to satisfy dispensary owners and consumers. The current law only permits certain recreational licensure to those who don’t already own an active medical marijuana facility. These include Class A grow (100 plants) and microbusiness (150 plants, processing, and retail).
This has been especially problematic for those looking for more recreational marijuana dispensaries in Michigan. Of course, this is frustrating for consumers and would-be dispensary owners. Many entrepreneurs have stopped applying for recreational dispensary licenses, especially in municipalities that have chosen to allow adult-use cannabis but have yet to opt-in under the MMFLA.
As of March 1, 2021, the MRA has opened the recreational marijuana licensing process in Michigan to all applicants, even if they do not hold an MMFLA license. With this being the case, anyone interested in applying for a Class C Grow license, retailer license, or another marijuana license is finally able to do so without the previous limitations.
With this in mind, we expect to see more recreational marijuana dispensaries and microbusinesses in Michigan. Thus, we can expect more innovations, products, and brands in these adult-use dispensaries.
Closing on Michigan Recreational Purchase Limit
The Michigan recreational purchase limit is in place to ensure that consumers enjoy cannabis responsibly. Just as in any other legal state, adults are limited to the purchase amounts of cannabis flower and concentrates.
As more cannabis dispensaries are expected to open their doors throughout Michigan, it’s important that every consumer knows these rules and regulations before making a purchase. But it’s equally crucial for dispensary operators to understand these regulations, too.
The best way to avoid being penalized is by understanding what you and your customers can and cannot do. This is a sure-fire way to avoid costly infractions and remain operating profitably.
Looking to scale your recreational cannabis dispensary in Michigan? Northstar is ready to help!
Contact us now to speak with one of our experts about growing your operation in this budding space.